About Southwark Council

Southwark Council is made up of 23 wards. Two or three councillors are elected from each ward making it a total of 63 councillors.

The Labour party has 49 councillors and the Liberal Democrats party has 14 councillors.

Elections for the council are held every four years. The last election took place on 3 May 2018.

The leader of the council is Cllr Kieron Williams (Labour). The council employs officers to carry out its policies and run services. Officers are managed by the Chief Executive. The council is made up of five departments.

Page last updated: 12 April 2023


Privacy settings