The Mayor of Southwark

Profile of The Mayor

Councillor Catherine Rose was born in Chester moving to the borough 1999. She was first elected as a Southwark Borough councillor for College Ward in a by-election in May 2016. She was re-elected as a councillor for the newly formed Dulwich Wood ward in May 2018.

Mayor Rose portrait 2018
Mayor Catherine Rose

Prior to becoming Mayor, she had been a member of Southwark’s Education and Children’s Services Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee. Catherine has also developed proposals for improving life for children and families. She wishes to work with and promote The Family and Childcare Trust within Southwark during her year as Mayor.

As well as over 15 years experience working in both the public sector and private, she has been actively engaged in community work in recent years. She was spokesperson for the original Southwark SPACE campaign, which helped secure the Dulwich Hospital site for a new school. Catherine is presently school governor at The Charter School East Dulwich.

She has also served as Chair of St John's and St Clement's Primary School PTFA for over two years. Catherine is a Trustee of a national education and teaching charity, the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE) and is presently their Operations Committee Chair. 

Catherine and her son are obsessive about Dulwich Hamlet Football Club, she is a proud season ticket holder and member of the Dulwich Hamlet Supporters Trust. The role of Mayor provides a platform to save and support both the club and the ASPIRE academy. 

The Mayor announced her son Peter as her Consort for the year ahead and will also nominate a Community Consort for specific events. Councillor Sandra Rhule was appointed as her Deputy Mayor and her Consort will be Past Mayor, Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE.

Page last updated: 06 February 2019