Registered parks, gardens and London squares

Parks and gardens

There are five registered parks and gardens within Southwark:

  • Dulwich Park
  • Belair Park (in Dulwich)
  • Nunhead Cemetery
  • Peckham Rye Park
  • Southwark Park

There are historic landscapes included on Historic England’s Register of Historic Parks and Gardens. These are landscapes of national significance, and the register is to celebrate landscapes of note and take account of their significance in the planning process.

London squares

The London Squares Act of 1931 banned building work on important squares. We celebrate this urban form of development by noting their importance within London. They're considered to be non-designated heritage assets, and many are in conservation areas or comprise listed buildings or registered parks and gardens. There are 7 protected squares in Southwark:

  • Addington Square
  • Merrick Square
  • Trinity Church Square
  • West Square
  • Nelson Square
  • Leyton Square
  • Avondale Square

Page last updated: 04 April 2023


Privacy settings