Burgess Park is Southwark's largest park stretching from Camberwell and Walworth in the west to Peckham and the Old Kent Road in the east.
It is unique in that it is a young park, developed as a result of the Abecrombie Plan for open spaces in 1943. The area was home to factories, densely populated streets and the Surrey Canal but badly bombed during World War II.
The park was built between the 1950s and 1980s, named after Councillor Jessie Burgess, Camberwell's first woman Mayor in 1973.
It has recently undergone an £8m transformation, establishing it as a park central to the local community and recognised more widely for its heritage, sports facilities, lake, wildlife, design and horticultural excellence and even barbecues.