Global IT issues affecting online systems

We are currently impacted by the global IT issues. As a result, a number of our online systems are affected. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Southwark Council names new Mayor and updated Cabinet

23 May 2024

Cllr Naima Ali has been elected as the Worshipful the Mayor of Southwark for the municipal year 2024/25 at the Annual Meeting of the Council. 

Cllr Ali received the chain - and status as "first citizen" of the Borough - from outgoing Mayor, Cllr Michel Situ, on Wednesday, 22 May at the annual Mayor-making ceremony at Southwark Cathedral. Fellow councillor, Sunny Lambe, was elected as deputy Mayor at the same ceremony.

Southwark Council also appointed its new-look Cabinet at the meeting, with some slight changes in responsibilities and introducing new Cabinet Members and Deputy Cabinet Members.

The new Cabinet is as follows:

Cllr Kieron Williams, Leader of the Council

The Leader sets the overall vision, direction and top priorities for the council. He represents the council in the community and in negotiations with regional and national organisations.

Cllr Jasmine Ali, Deputy Leader & Cabinet Member for Children, Education and Refugees

Cllr Ali will deputise for the Leader of the Council in his absence by representing the borough at external events, as well as having responsibility for education, children’s social care, children’s mental health, refugees and young offenders.

Cllr Evelyn Akoto, Cabinet Member for Health & Wellbeing

Cllr Akoto’s portfolio includes supporting carers, improving health services and adult social care, as well as public health.

Cllr John Batteson, Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency, Jobs & Business

Cllr Batteson will oversee our High Streets, business support, Living Wage, Worker’s Rights and vocation skills as well as looking at climate adaptation and greening our local businesses.

Cllr Stephanie Cryan, Cabinet Member for Equalities, Democracy & Finance

Cllr Cryan’s portfolio includes the ongoing Cost of Living support, digital infrastructure in Southwark, equalities and the council’s finances.

Cllr Helen Dennis, Cabinet Member for New Homes & Sustainable Development

Cllr Dennis oversees our new homes building programme, new affordable homes, planning and building control, developing our opportunity areas like Old Kent Road and responding to the Southwark Land Commission.  

Cllr Natasha Ennin, Cabinet Member for Community Safety & Neighbourhoods

Cllr Ennin is responsible for private rented housing, environmental health, our partnership with police and reducing crime and anti-social behaviour in the borough.

Cllr Sarah King, Cabinet Member for Council Homes

Cllr King oversees the council housing in the borough, including sheltered housing, temporary accommodation and Gypsy, Roma and Traveller communities. Her role covers resident involvement, maintenance and fire safety in our council homes.

Cllr James McAsh, Cabinet Member for Clean Air, Streets & Waste  

Cllr McAsh covers improving the council’s air quality, creating safer streets for walking and cycling, road safety and improving public transport, waste and recycling and flood risk.

Cllr Portia Mwangangye, Cabinet Member for Leisure, Parks & Young People

Cllr Mwangangye has taken on the role of Cabinet Member for leisure, parks and young people, which includes oversight of our sports and leisure services, our parks and open spaces, culture including events and libraries, and increasing the influence of young people in council decision through things like the Youth Parliament.

Deputy Members

Page last updated: 23 May 2024

Privacy settings