Improvements to our website

We have made changes to our website to improve the way it looks and to give residents a better experience. You can find out more about this update here. 

Private rented property licensing

Selective licensing

Does my property need a selective licence?

If you let a property in Southwark that is not an HMO and not already subject to Mandatory or Additional Licensing you may need to apply for a selective licence.

There are four selective licensing designations in Southwark.

From 1 March 2022, you will need to apply for a selective licence if you let your property privately, it is not an HMO, and it is in one of the following areas/designations:

Designation 1

  • Newington
  • Champion Hill

Designation 2

  • Faraday
  • St. Giles
  • Goose Green

From 1 November 2023, you will need to apply for a selective licence if you let your property privately, it is not an HMO and it is in one of the following designations:

Designation 3

  • North Walworth
  • Nunhead & Queens Road
  • Old Kent Road
  • Peckham

Designation 4

  • Camberwell Green
  • Chaucer
  • Dulwich Hill
  • Dulwich Wood
  • London Bridge & West Bermondsey
  • Peckham Rye
  • Rotherhithe
  • Rye Lane
  • South Bermondsey
  • Surrey Docks
Applications for designations 3 and 4 can be submitted from 1 October 2023

I need help finding out if my property is in one of these areas

If you are not sure whether your property is in one of these areas you can click on the link below to view the selective licensing designations map to find out.

Instructions for using the map:

  1. Type your address into the search bar on the map.
  2. A pink marker will appear on the map to show you where your property is. You can zoom into and out of the map using the + and – buttons on the map to see street and property detail or the wider map of the designations.
  3. Click on the tick box next to the Southwark boundary on the right-hand side of the map if you want to see the area covered by Southwark Council.

If you are colour-blind and having trouble seeing the colours on the map email for assistance.

The difference between the designations is the standard conditions that will appear on your licence. The application process and fees are the same for all four selective licensing designations.

View the selective licencing designations map

Page last updated: 14 September 2023


Privacy settings