Improvements to our website

We have made changes to our website to improve the way it looks and to give residents a better experience. You can find out more about this update here. 

Leader of the Council and Cabinet Members

Councillor Helen Dennis

Cabinet Member for New Homes and Sustainable Development  

Cllr Dennis’s responsibilities include:

  • New council homes - the council’s work to build thousands of new council homes; including new council homes for older people; net-zero homes; and working with the Cabinet Member for Council Homes to deliver new council homes on the Aylesbury, Tustin, Ledbury and Abbeyfield estates
  • New affordable homes - including housing association social rent homes; keyworker homes; community land trusts and housing cooperatives; homes for refugees; and temporary accommodation
  • Homelessness - including support for people who are at risk of being or who become homeless; working to end rough sleeping; securing good quality temporary accommodation; and establishing the council’s Good Lettings Agency
  • Planning & building control - planning applications, enforcement and policy (including the Southwark Plan, neighbourhood plans, area action plans and supplementary planning documents); Section 106 agreements and payments; and building control and dangerous structures
  • Old Kent Road - working with the community to shape development in the OKR opportunity area, including the delivery of new affordable homes and community infrastructure
  • Major infrastructure projects, including the Bakerloo Line Extension, new Elephant & Castle Northern Line station, wider improvements to train and tube stations; and Strategic Community Infrastructure Levy (CIL)
  • Empty homes and short-term lets - including the council’s Empty Homes Action Plan; and the Good Lettings Agency
  • Responding to the Southwark Land Commission
  • Renewal of the Aylesbury, Tustin, Ledbury and Abbeyfield estates - working with residents to deliver new and improved homes and estates (working with the Cabinet Member for Council Homes)

Page last updated: 28 November 2023


Privacy settings