Southwark Youth Parliament

Southwark Youth Parliament (SYP) is a group of young people, elected by young people to represent the voices of young people through their schools and neighbourhoods. SYP support the council’s engagement with young people and lead on developing exciting and empowering ways of addressing priority issues that matter most to young people in Southwark.

During Southwark Youth Parliament election week, 19 to 25 July 2021, Southwark young people between the ages of 14 and 19 stood as candidates to represent their Southwark school or community area. Two candidates from each Southwark school and two candidates from ten community areas with the most votes were successfully elected.

Southwark young people also decided Southwark’s first-ever Youth Leader and Deputy Youth Leader as well as the top three issues they want SYP members to work on during their two-year term.

Priority issues in ranking order:

  1. Black Lives Matter
  2. Knife crime
  3. Mental health

Elected youth leader

Elected deputy youth leader

Awele Benokwu

Dreaon McDonald Simms

Community area

Elected representative


Grace Agou

Oluferanmi Balogun

Borough & Bankside

Elsie McDowell

Leona Bimbashi


Camille Kiavue

Dreaon McDonald Simms


Aiken Furlong

Alfie Garvin

Elephant and Castle

Azmarea Muhamad Azlan

Manish Chauhan


Drago Elliott Barker

Taina Popoola


Fatiat Kareem

Zoe Madu


Lee Palmer

Sarah Salim Omar


La-Tia Marie Pinnock

Matilda Odidi


Alex Gough

Konrad Szuminski


Elected representative

Ark All Saints Academy

Niamh Standley

Raghad El-Sayed Kassem

Ark Globe Academy

Di'Mario Downer

Humayra Choudhury

Ark Walworth Academy

Lourenco Macovschi

Bacon's College

Aaron Suti

Raheemah Yusuff

City of London Academy Southwark

Mehmet Ozer

Compass School Southwark

Mariam Ajayi

Milly Curtis Ramsey

Harris Academy Peckham

Haliyat Mudasir

Kristian White

Harris Boys' Academy East Dulwich

Marlo Enzo

Harris Girls' Academy East Dulwich

Awele Benokwu

Marghlara Khakwan

Notre Dame RC Girls' School

Ashanti Stoner

Sacred Heart Catholic Secondary School

Tife Ogunlowo

St Michael's Catholic College

De-Winton Parker

Isabelle Monteza Kwokova

St Saviour's and St Olave's

Angel Adegbayi Oyewole

Mariam Durrani

St Thomas the Apostle College

Ojei Imiavan

Stephen Odeleye

The Charter School East Dulwich

Cormac Wygers

The Charter School North Dulwich

Rianne Royal

For more information about Southwark Youth Parliament please contact

Page last updated: 24 February 2022

Privacy settings