Leader of the council and cabinet members

Peter John
Councillor Peter John

Councillor Peter John has been the Leader of Southwark council since May 2010. He was first elected to the council in 2002 and has been the Leader of Southwark Labour Group since 2004.

As Council Leader, Peter has taken a particular interest in housing and regeneration. He's overseen the council’s £326 million Warm, Dry and Safe investment programme and the response to the report of the independent housing commission chaired by Jan Luba QC. Peter is committed to the major regeneration projects taking place across the borough, and in particular the major multi-billion council sponsored projects at the Elephant and Castle and the Aylesbury.

As a member of London Councils Executive and the London Enterprise Panel, Peter is committed to helping deliver an agenda of creating jobs and growth across London. 

Peter chairs the Southwark Health and Wellbeing Board and is Vice Chair of a local charity. He worked full-time as a barrister until 2010.

Southwark is now recognised as one of London’s leading local authorities, providing innovative solutions in challenging economic times. 

Cabinet members portfolios

Cabinet portfolio

Cabinet member

Leader of the Council

Councillor Peter John

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure, Equalities and Communities

Councillor Rebecca Lury

Community Safety and Public Health  

Councillor Evelyn Akoto

Children, Schools and Adult Care  

Councillor Jasmine Ali

Housing Management and Modernisation  

Councillor Stephanie Cryan

Environment, Transport Management and Air Quality

Councillor Richard Livingstone 

Finance, Performance and Brexit

Councillor Victoria Mills

Social Regeneration, Great Estates and New Council Homes  

Councillor Leo Pollak

Growth, Development and Planning

Councillor Johnson Situ

Jobs, Skills and Innovation

Councillor Kieron Williams


Page last updated: 22 May 2018